How to implement Rollback?

Oct 18, 2015 at 12:16 PM
Edited Oct 23, 2015 at 7:10 AM
I'm very new in wix, msi and wix#...

How to implement Rollback and Repair and custom elevated uninstall using wix# ?
For example, I have installed my app to folder. And now I need to do something: call some 3d party application or connect to database, launch task scheduler...and something goes wrong, throws execptions. How to implement it.
Coordinator
Oct 21, 2015 at 1:35 AM
You need to implement CustomAction and in this action return success or failure. The easiest way of doing this is to use ManagedSetup events:
project.AfterInstall += project_AfterInstall;
static void project_AfterInstall(SetupEventArgs e)
{
    try
    {
        //do your stuff
    }
    catch (Exception ex)
    {
        e.Session.Log(ex.Message);
        e.Result = ActionResult.Failure;
    }
}
Marked as answer by asartem on 10/23/2015 at 12:08 AM
Oct 21, 2015 at 4:16 PM
Edited Oct 21, 2015 at 4:57 PM
Thanks. But the project_afterInstall and other built-in handlers during uninstallation has less permissions (somehow) when during installation. That's why we used elevated managed action.
In our custom uninstall action ( UnInstallCertificatesAndStopTaskAction ) we delete certificates first (while all files are still exisisting in installDir ).
But another problem appears while we select and press Repair button on setup.msi :
the same custom action (UnInstallCertificatesAndStopTaskAction) is called again (like in unstallation process). And how to check that it's a Repearing and Uninstall state now while I'm inside custom action?
session.IsRepeare() throws exception, that it doesn't contain such key. In your project_AfterInstall you can get it from SetupEventArgs e but not in my custom elevated action. Answer from stackoverflow like session.EvalulateCondition("Installed"); throws the same error. Really I have only 2 properties in sesssion: INTSALLDIR = "C:\Program Files..." and UI = 3.

My action looks like this: