A few newbie questions

Apr 15, 2015 at 11:47 AM
Hi Oleg,

First off, great job with Wix#.

I'm completely new to Wix/Wix#, and trying to have my first MSI package built and ready. And I've got a few stumbles on my road. Maybe you or somebody else here can help me with those?

This is an example of the project:
var featureHostSvc = new Feature(
    "Service Host (Win Service)",
    "The host implemented as a Windows service",
    true)
{
    Attributes = new Dictionary<string, string> { { "AllowAdvertise", "no" } },
    ConfigurableDir = "SERVICEHOSTDIR"
};

File featureHostSvcInstaller;

var project =
    new Project(
        "My Product",
        new Dir(
            new Id("ROOTDIR"),
            defaultInstallDir,
            new Dir(
                new Id("SERVICEHOSTDIR"),
                "ServiceHost",
                new Files(featureHostSvc, @"Files\ServiceHost\*.*", new[] { "Service.Host.exe", "*.config" }),
                // avoid overwriting the existing config files
                new File(featureHostSvc, @"Files\ServiceHost\DB.config") { Condition = Condition.NOT_Installed },
                new File(featureHostSvc, @"Files\ServiceHost\Service.Host.exe.config") { Condition = Condition.NOT_Installed },
                featureHostSvcInstaller = new File(featureHostSvc, @"Files\ServiceHost\Service.Host.exe")),
        )
    )
{
    GUID =...,
    //UI = WUI.WixUI_Mondo,
    UI = WUI.WixUI_FeatureTree,
    Encoding = System.Text.Encoding.UTF8,
    Version = new Version(GetProductVersion()),
    MajorUpgradeStrategy = MajorUpgradeStrategy.Default
};

featureHostSvcInstaller.ServiceInstaller = new ServiceInstaller
{
    Name = "ServerHost",
    StartOn = SvcEvent.Install,
    StopOn = SvcEvent.InstallUninstall_Wait,
    RemoveOn = SvcEvent.Uninstall_Wait
};